Less is better 

Reblogged from my old blog A Healing Love
I may not have much, but what I do have I wouldn’t trade for anything. We’ve all heard the old adage, less is better, but until recently I don’t think I truly understood what it meant. 

Over the last months, days, weeks and years I have culled and reduced my belongings to necessities only. I have plenty of memories, but no regrets. It hit me the other day, like the proverbial two-by-four that I really like my life.  

What does minimalism mean to you? It definitely carries a different meaning for each of us. I believe it also changes with the passage of time. Years ago I felt I needed a convertible, and a second nice car parked in my garage. I needed a new suit each month, complete with coordinating purse and of course jewellery. For a couple of decades I worked eighteen hour days to provide for this lifestyle and at the time I was ok with that. 
In a lot of cases the old “keeping up with the Jones” was totally me. Then one day, about five years ago, I realized I was tired of it all. That was the moment I walked away from everything, sold alot, gave away tons and went on an adventure creating a new life. For a time I found myself enjoying the pleasure of daily walks, a small living space and no car at all! Gasp!  
Unfortunately it didn’t take long to get back into the I want, I need lifestyle of overindulgence and stress. Thankfully it only took a couple years for the sense of exhaustion to break through and realize I wasn’t where I wanted to be anymore once again. A couple years had passed, a couple relationships had fizzled and died and I was another couple years older. 
Today I virtually have nothing. I gave everything I had to my kids and what was left went to those who needed it. It felt amazing and yet scary all at the same time. If I really wanted to, I could fit all of my possessions in the back of my little car, that is debt free, and drive away. 
Yet as I look across the room at these four little feet, I’m content. I’m blessed to have time to spend with my sons, grandchildren and at the same time reconnect with my sister and nieces. Best of all I’m truly happy. 

Leave a Reply

